

중 780-423-2031
■ 780-425-6244

⊠ info@edmontonsocialplanning.ca ■ www.edmontonsocialplanning.ca

#### Edmonton Social Planning Council 75th Annual General Meeting May 21, 2015 5:30 – 6:30pm

## **MINUTES**

## 1. Welcome and President's Remarks

The meeting was convened at 5:38 p.m. by Vasant Chotai, President of the Edmonton Social Planning Council, who welcomed everyone and delivered a brief opening statement. Vasant welcomed Kate Quinn from CEASE and former recipient of the Award of Merit, Richard Feehan, new MLA, Sheila Pittman from the United Way, Bryan Sandiland, Peter Faid, former Executive Director of the ESPC and all the ESPC Board and ESPC members attending.

## 2. Approval of the Agenda

<u>*Motion:*</u> MOVED by Perri Garvin, seconded by Candas Jane Dorsey to accept the agenda as presented. *Motion: CARRIED* 

### 3. Approval of Minutes of May 6th, 2014

**Motion:** MOVED by Candas Jane Dorsey, seconded by Rose Marie Tremblay to approve the minutes from the May 6th, 2014 AGM as presented. **Motion: CAPPIED** 

### <u>Motion: CARRIED</u>

### 4. Award of Merit For Advocacy of Social Justice

Rose Marie Tremblay presented Award of Merit for Advocacy of Social Justice to the City of Edmonton Youth Council and Youth Action on Poverty.

### 5. President's Report

Vasant Chotai reflected on the work of the Board and Council for the year 2014 and asked people to review our 2014 Annual Report.



會 780-423-2031 昌 780-425-6244 ⊠ info@edmontonsocialplanning.ca ■ www.edmontonsocialplanning.ca

He thanked past board members, current board members and ESPC staff for their great work and support during his tenure on the board.

# 6. Operations Report

Susan Morrissey, Executive Director, reflected on the work of the Council and change within our community, and province for the 2014 year and referenced the work we did in early 2015 on the city of Edmonton's Poverty report. She is optimistic on the future projects already begun in 2015.

Susan Morrissey, thanked the staff, volunteers, board of directors, funders and ESPC members for their continued support.

## 7. Presentation of Financial Report

Doug Meggison, Chair of the ESPC Finance committee reported on the 2014 financial activities of the Council.

a) Presentation of the 2014 Audited Financial statements. Carla Walker presented the Audit Report.

<u>Motion</u>: MOVED by Anne Stevenson, seconded by Dave Trautman to approve the audited 2014 financial statements as presented. <u>Motion: CARRIED</u>

 b) <u>Motion</u>: MOVED by Doug Meggison, seconded by Bridget Stirling to appoint Peterson, Walker to complete the 2015 audit. <u>Motion</u>: <u>CARRIED</u>

Doug Meggison thanked Carla Walker for her work.

### 8. Board Development/Nominating Committee Report

Vasant Chotai introduced Doug Meggison, Interim Chair of the Board Development Committee.



중 780-423-2031
■ 780-425-6244

⊠ info@edmontonsocialplanning.ca ■ www.edmontonsocialplanning.ca

Doug Meggison thanked retiring board member Vasant Chotai for his work over the past 4 year on the ESPC Board and presented him with a token of appreciation.

a) Introduction of continuing Board Members

- Bridget Stirling
- Anne Stevenson
- Doug Meggison
- Candas Jane Dorsey
- b) Doug Meggison introduces new nominees to the Board

Erin LaRocque Dave Trautman Madeleine Baldwin

c) CALLS for nominations from the floor.

Anne Stevenson nominated Cody Spencer and Christine Baron to become a members of the ESPC Board of Directors.

Bridget Stirling nominated Gwen Feeny to become a member of the ESPC Board of Directors.

<u>Motion</u>: MOVED by Doug Meggison, seconded by Candas Jane Dorsey, that nominations cease. <u>Motion: CARRIED</u>

<u>Motion</u>: MOVED by Anne Steveson, seconded by Candas Jane Dorsey to elect the above mentioned candidate(s) to the Board of Directors of the Edmonton Social Planning Council. <u>Motion: CARRIED</u>



중 780-423-2031
■ 780-425-6244

⊠ info@edmontonsocialplanning.ca ■ www.edmontonsocialplanning.ca

## 9. Policy Committee

a) ESPC Bylaw Revision:

Rose Marie Tremblay presented and explained the amendment to the Edmonton Social Planning Council's Bylaw 6.1.3.3.

*Motion:* MOVED by Dave Trautman, seconded by Vasant Chotai that be it resolved that By-law 6.1.3.3 I repealed, and replaced by the following:

"The term of office shall be two years. Directors shall be eligible to serve a maximum of three consecutive terms of office. A Director having served three consecutive terms of office shall remain off the Board for one year before begin eligible for re-election." *Motion: CARRIED* 

### 10. Other Business

NONE

11. Adjournment – (adjourned at 6.50 pm)

<u>Motion</u>: MOVED by Candas Jane Dorsey, seconded by Perri Garvin to adjourn the business portion of the 75<sup>th</sup> ESPC Annual General Meeting. <u>Motion: CARRIED</u>