

## **BOARD MEETING MINUTES**

APRIL 12, 2016

ESPC OFFICE, SUITE 37, 9912-106 STREET, EDMONTON

Attendees Anne Stevenson, President

Erin LaRocque, Board Director, Policy & Brd. Deve. Cttee.

**Dave Trautman,** Board Director, Fund Deve. Cttee. **Madeleine Baldwin,** Board Director, Policy Cttee.

Doug Meggison, Board Director, Finance Cttee. (Chair), Brd. Dev.

Candas Jane Dorsey, Board Director, Advocacy Cttee.

Cody Spencer, Board Director, Policy Alexandra Seaman, Board Director Gwen Feeny, Board Director

**Regrets:** 

Guests: Carla Walker, Peterson Walker

1) **Welcome/Introduction** – Meeting called to order by Anne Stevenson at 6.00 pm

# 2) Consent agenda – approval of agenda and minutes:

**MOTION:** Moved by Madeleine, seconded by Candas to approve agenda with additions and the following changes to the March 1/2016 board minutes.

Item 4 – Award of Merit, replace Doug Meggison's name with Madeline Baldwin Annual Report, add Doug Meggison's name to Board Development Report.

Item 5 – Financial Report – remove the words *purposes only* 

**MOTION:** CARRIED

## 3) **2015 Financial Report:**

Carla Walker reviewed the audit process indicating no issues or concerns.

Further discussion regarding the year end surplus can take place during the balance of the 2016 year to determine if the Board wants to move money to the "Restricted Fund".

**MOTION:** Moved by Doug Meggison, seconded by Dave Trautman to accept the 2015 Financial Statements as presented.

**MOTION:** CARRIED

## 4) **Executive Director's Report:**

Susan Morrissey provided a brief overview of previously circulated March Operations report. Additional discussion:

- a) **AGM** Speakers topic has been finalized, invitations have gone out and social media has started.
- b) Nominations board membership was discussed and candidates put forward

<u>MOTION:</u> Moved by Erin LaRocque, seconded by Gwen Feeny, the following Slate of Officers is being put forward at the May 19, 2016 Annual General Meeting:

1st Term Nomination: Alexandra Seaman and Maxwell Harrison

2<sup>nd</sup> Term Nomination: Candas Jane Dorsey 3<sup>rd</sup> Term Nomination: Doug Meggison

**MOTION:** CARRIED

Susan Morrissey, Executive Director

and Recording Secretary

## c) Award of Merit -

5 nominations were considered. Committee recommended the following:

**MOTION:** Madeline Baldwin, seconded by Cody Spencer that the Award of Merit go to both the Action Coalition on Human Trafficking (Organization) and also to Sarah Eadie (Individual).

# **MOTION:** CARRIED

d) **Housekeeping RE: Membership:** there are a few outstanding items

ACTION: Alexandra Seaman to provide Susan Morrissey with her Bio as soon as possible.

<u>ACTION:</u> Doug Meggison or Erin LaRocque to get Maxwell Harrison's bio in to staff as soon as possible.

<u>ACTION:</u> Headshots to be taken at May 10 meeting of Alexandra Seaman, Cody Spencer, Gwen Feeny and Maxwell Harrison,

<u>ACTION:</u> The following board members are required to renew memberships on or before May 19 Anne Stevenson, Gwen Feeny and Candas Jane Dorsey.

e) **Alberta Child Poverty Report** - Susan advised that the report, to be released on April 12, 2016 was sent to Board Members earlier today along with the media release.

## 5) **Board Committees:**

# a) Fundraising

Susan reported 2 individuals have come forward expressing an interest in possible being involved in a Fundraising Committee. Susan indicated that in the past this committee was a subcommittee of the Board. Susan also explained that Steeps Tea has expressed interest in possibly doing a fundraising project.

**ACTION:** Dave Trautman agreed to review the Steeps proposal and report back at the next meeting.

# b) Quarterly Report Update

Susan will introduce a new format at the May meeting.

## 6) Strategic Framework:

Anne provided a review of the survey summary.

ACTION: Susan to circulate the summary to all Board Members

<u>ACTION:</u> Anne to incorporate changes (suggestions that do not substantially change the content) and email the updated Strategic Framework in advance of the next meeting, which will then be voted on at the May meeting.

Meeting Closed at 8:10 PM